Black candidate and Buckwheat comment

2010 African-American Achievers April 14 at Broward Convention Center

My friend and classmate, William "DC" Clark is among the five individuals to be recognized as an African-American Achiever at the annual celebration sponsored by JM Family Enterprises, Southeast Toyota and JM Lexus. Congratulations to "DC" and all of this year's honorees.

The four distinguished individuals, chosen from more than 114 nominees, will be honored for their contributions to South Florida at the 2010 African-American Achievers awards ceremony on Wednesday, April 14, at 6:15 p.m. at the Broward County Convention Center. This year's Jerome Edmund Gray Youth Achiever will also be announced and presented that evening by The Jim Moran Foundation.

The 2010 adult African-American Achievers and their respective categories are:

Perry Stokes – Arts and Culture

Leroy Jones – Business and Entrepreneurism

William "DC" Clark – Community Service

Dr. Emma Banks – Education

The 2010 honorees were selected by an independent panel of community leaders from Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties that also includes former honorees. The selection committee reviewed nominations submitted after an extensive public outreach campaign. Automotive legend Jim Moran, founder of JM Family and subsidiaries Southeast Toyota Distributors and JM Lexus, established the program in 1992 to recognize community leaders who give back and inspire others in the process.

To further recognize the Achievers, JM Family, Southeast Toyota and JM Lexus annually donate $20,000 to local nonprofits - $5,000 in each adult Achiever's name to the charity(ies) of his or her choice. Look for the 2010 Achievers and their inspiring stories in public service announcements by our long-time media partners WPLG-TV Local 10, WEDR-FM 99 JAMZ and WHQTFM HOT 105, and in print advertisements throughout South Florida.

The Jerome Edmund Gray Youth Achiever will also be presented by The Jim Moran Foundation, Inc. at the ceremony. Each year The Foundation, in partnership with Florida State University (FSU), selects a high school senior who qualifies for financial aid and has applied and received admission to FSU for the Jerome Edmund Gray Youth Achiever award. Named in memory of 1995 African-American Achiever Jerome Edmund Gray, Esq., the award is a needs-based, four-year scholarship to FSU with funding provided through the Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship at FSU.


The community is encouraged to attend the awards ceremony. To RSVP, log on to or call 866-516-2497. The deadline is April 9.

2010 African-American Achievers 001

Group Photo -- From left to right, the 2010 African-American Achievers: Leroy Jones, Business and Entrepreneurism; William "DC" Clark, Community Service; Dr. Emma Banks, Education; and Perry Stokes, Arts and Culture. The Jerome Edmund Gray Youth Achiever will be announced at the awards ceremony on Wednesday, April 14 at the Broward County Convention Center.

To learn more, visit or become a fan on Facebook.

It was also delightful to see long-time family friend, Elizabeth Jackson Wesley, featured in the invitation.

African-American Achiever Elizabeth Jackson 001

2010 Selection Committee: C. Ron Allen; Sonya Burrows; George Gadson; Shamele Jenkins and Keondra Pierre-Eafford

Vanessa Woodard Byers for MIami-Dade County School Board


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.