Merry Christmas and Thank You
Celebrate Kwanzaa in Miami, 4PM Sat. 12/26/15, African Heritage Cultural Arts Center

Local Alpha Kappa Alpha Graduate Chapters Welcome New Members


The sisterhood of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority continues to grow as the two Miami-Dade County graduate chapters, Gamma Zeta Omega and Pi Delta Omega, recently welcomed new members into its organization of women committed to delivering supreme service to all mankind. Alpha Kappa Alpha, founded on January 15, 1908 at Howard University, is the first Greek-lettered organization established and incorporated by and for college-educated black women.

On Sunday, December 6, 2015, family and friends gathered at the Hyatt Regency in Coral Gables to celebrate the eight lovely and sophisticated women welcomed into the Pi Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated --- Dorothy Cook, Kristen L. Pope, Rachel Mumford, Bianca Killins, Lisa Thelwell, Kimberly Wilson, Patricia Jones-Cummings and Olisa Adger.

Do check out the fabulous photograph below of the “Eight Elements of Elegance”; it has caused quite a stir on social media.



On the following Sunday, December 13, my chapter, Gamma Zeta Omega, welcomed 35 lovely, sophisticated and energetic new members as more than 500 friends and family gathered to celebrate at the Bonaventure Resort and Spa in Weston. The occasion was made all the more special by the participation of Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover, International First Vice President of Alpha Kappa Alpha and President of Tennessee State University and past South Atlantic Regional Director and past Gamma Zeta Omega Chapter President, Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson.

Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover and Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson
Kairos 35
Kairos 35 with Membership Co-chair Davida Rolle (in white)


Welcome Kairos 35: Natalie Baldie, Jasmine Baldwin, Candice Bethel, Odessa Blythe, LaShara Bostic, Tonja Carter, Linda Christian, Cecelia Facey, Deborah Forte, Sandi Foster, Shelly-Ann Gibson, Shelia Goodman, Karen Ingraham, Stacey Ingraham, Kimberly Jackson, Samine Jernigan, Erica Knowles-Nelson, Sandra Lee, Elaina McCann-Brinson, Nyshel McKenzie, Brita Milton, Shawntavia Montero, Marquita Moore, Deldra Owens, Eboni Peoples, Shekeyla Roberts, Rosheika Rolle, Trecia Rolle-Bursey, Michael Strong-Mason, Jonell Studstill, Nakita Walker, Kim White, Richelle Williams, Sasha Wong and Shawna Woodruff.


Mayor Gilbert and AKAs
Miami Gardens Mayor Oliver Gilbert snaps group selfie with Gamma Zeta Omega Chapter members.


Welcome again, Eight Elements of Elegance and Kairos 35…enjoy your journey in our sisterhood!



Va-va sig 75x39



 #AKA1908 #TeamAKA #Team20Pearls #AKAGZO #AKAPDO #SupremeInService  


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.